Skip to main content

SAI Global Announces 2016 HACCP Conference Award Winners


Honouring Food Safety Professionals

As part of its annual two-day conference, HACCP recognised the best in food safety at its 2016 awards ceremony, hosted by SAI Global. The awards recognise and reward the achievements of those who work tirelessly to ensure the safety of Australia's food supply.

Dawn Welham, Technical Director, SAI Global, said: "In my former roles of Technical Director and Head of Trading Law at Asda Walmart, I know just how challenging it is to manage a complex global supply program. Making sure that customers get the product safety, quality and integrity that they pay for is no easy feat. Having an opportunity to share experiences and learn from globally renowned experts at SAI Global's HACCP conference is an excellent way of keeping skills and knowledge sharp, both of which are vital to ensuring that customers can buy with confidence and Australia's food industry remains strong and resilient.”

Paul Butcher, Chief Commercial Officer, SAI Global, said: “The annual HACCP conference awards is an opportunity to recognise and reward the achievements of those who work tirelessly to ensure the safety of our food supply. Thanks to the commitment of these outstanding individuals, we can be confident the industry is investing in continuous food safety improvements.”

Food safety experts were awarded across three categories with the 2016 winners chosen by a panel of Australia's top industry-recognised food experts and their peers. The categories included:

  • The Ross Peters Award for Excellence in Food Safety
  • Leaders of the Future, a food safety learning scholarship
  • Innovators in Food Safety

The prestigious Ross Peters Award, recognising excellence in food safety, was awarded to Leah Williamson, Technical Manager, True Foods.  Leah was a finalist in the 2015 awards. 

"I’m honoured because Ross taught me and was a mentor, and HACCP has played a pivotal role in my development and to be recognised for something that you are passionate about and love is just an added bonus."

Leah Williamson

Technical Manager, True Foods

The Leaders of the Future food safety learning scholarship was awarded to Anna Tran, Quality Assurance Supervisor, ARYZTA.

"I’m very shocked and very happy to receive this award. I’m very happy to work for a company that supports my professional development and sees the passion I have in food safety."

Anna Tran

Quality Assurance Supervisor, ARYZTA

The winner of the Innovator in Food safety award went to Gary Erickson, Coolsan Principal Scientist, Coolsan Australia.

"It’s about getting the recognition for lots of hard work that’s hardly ever seen but results in amazing things eventually. You can’t always see what’s ahead but you can see a problem and solve it."

Gary Erickson

Coolsan Principal Scientist, Coolsan Australia

The 2016 HACCP Awards judging panel comprised Australian and international food safety experts:

  • Dawn Welham, Technical Director, SAI Global
  • Dr. Barry McGookin, General Manager Innovation, Skills and Development, Food Innovation Australia
  • Jennifer Crawford, Supplier and Audit Compliance Manager, Coles


About the Australian HACCP Conference 

The 23rd Australian HACCP Conference will be held in Melbourne on October 5-6, 2016. The Australian HACCP Conference is the premier discussion forum for all food industry professionals involved in food safety. Each year the conference attracts a loyal following together with a growing number of delegates involved in the development, implementation and maintenance of food safety programs. The Conference Program addresses issues that have affected the industry resulting from a wide range of events including regulatory change, international policy implementation, food borne illness outbreaks and technology developments. It also looks at specific sector issues so that all delegates can participate in the knowledge exchange, and apply the principles discussed in their own business environment. The conference has attracted many prominent international and domestic speakers over the years.


About the Awards

Ross Peters Award - recognising excellence in food safety
Ross Peters was the former Technical Director of Advancing Food Safety. He was a master of food safety and HACCP. With a career spanning 40 years Ross played a significant role within the Australian and International food industry, driving education and innovation across the sector. He was highly respected amongst his peers. Sadly, Ross passed away suddenly in 2012. This Award is presented to an individual who demonstrates the passion that Ross Peters showed for improving food safety in Australia and New Zealand.

Food Safety Training Scholarship - supporting our young talent with the scholarship program
This scholarship was launched in 2013 as part of the 20th anniversary of the Australian HACCP Conference. This scholarship is to support up and coming talent, an ambitious person keen to excel as a food safety professional. It will provide the opportunity for one individual in the food industry to complete food safety training in 2016 and offer them a fantastic start to a great career in food safety. The scholarship applicants were asked to submit an application that demonstrates their passion and interest in food safety, a commitment to the food industry and a willingness to learn. 

Innovators in Food Safety Award
Launched this year the Innovators in Food safety Award recognises an individual or organisation that has developed best in class innovations in technology, process, procedure and training regarding food safety. Without innovation, industry would be at a standstill - therefore celebrating innovation is key to stimulating growth and making connections. The winner of this Award will have made a positive and influential impact on food safety in Australia and/or New Zealand through an innovative idea, product or process.